Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica



Press Ctrl+P to print from browser

TIGP (BIO)—Noises and dynamics in cells: Mathematical modeling in systems biology


TIGP (BIO)—Noises and dynamics in cells: Mathematical modeling in systems biology

  • LecturerDr. Chao-Ping Hsu (Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica)
    Host: TIGP (BIO)
  • Time2021-10-14 (Thu.) 14:00 – 16:00
  • LocationAuditorium 101 at IIS new Building

We are interested in studying the noises and their effects in the dynamics in biological systems.  Gene expression noise is ubiquitous in cells. One source of noises is that genes are expressed in bursts, as both mRNA and protein bursts were observed in the past.  In order to simulate gene network dynamics with noise effects, a Langevin’s equation formulism is developed that is capable to account for the effects of bursts.  In this talk I'll go over several examples that we joinly work with experimentalists in the areas of developmental biology and neural science.


Chao-Ping (Cherri) Hsu was born in Taiwan. She obtained her B. S. and M.Sc. degree in Chemistry from National Taiwan University. She received her Ph.D. degree in Chemistry in 1998, from California Institute of Technology She was a Miller Fellow in University of California, Berkeley.  In 2002, she started her independent research career at Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica. Major awards and recognitions she received includes the Pople Medal from Asia-Pacific Association of Theoretical & Computational Chemists in 2010, the Outstanding Research Award from the National Science Council in 2011, the Investigator Award from Academia Sinica 2017. She is internationally recognized by her pioneering work on characterizing the electronic coupling in electron transfer and energy transfer with first-principle quantum chemistry computation.  She is also interested in developing mathematical modelling work for systems biology.  She is currently a member of the Editorial Advisory Board, The Journal of Chemical Physics.  She is also a Center Scientist of the physics division, National Center for Theoretical Sciences.